HKU Convocation


Spring Issue, 2017

Convocation Secretariat

c/o Development & Alumni Affairs Office
G/F Hung Hing Ying Building
The University of Hong Kong
Fax : 2517 6351
Email :

Chairman's Message

Dear Members,

At the Convocation Ordinary General Meeting (OGM) held on June 23th, 2016, eight members were elected to replace the scheduled retiring Standing Committee (SC) members. We welcome back KWAN Pak Ming Peter and TSE Hoi Shing Jeffrey who were reelected. We also welcome elected new SC members Mr CHAN Wo Shun Alex, Ms CHIU Kit Yi Priscilla, Mr LEE Chi Ming, Mr LI Kai Shun, Mr MAK Tung Wing and Mr TSUI Wai Hang Danny. They shall hold office for a team of three years, commencing immediately following the close of the OGM in 2016 until the OGM in 2019. I would like to express the SC’s thanks to the SC members who retired after the 2016 OGM for their past contributions to the Convocation. They are Mr CHAN Ka Chin, Mr CHU Wai Nung Ian, Dr LEE Ka Yan, Dr Evelyn MAN Yee Fun, Mr TAI Keen Man and Mr Thomas TSO Man Tai.

Mr CHAN Ka Chin, Mr CHU Wai Nung Ian and Mr TAI Keen Man were co-opted by the SC to serve in the Communication Sub-Committee and will continue to serve Convocation in this new capacity.

Ms LIU Yuk Ling Elaine was elected ipso facto as Clerk of Convocation by the SC on July 4th, 2016, succeeding Mrs TAM CHEUNG Chui Fan. The SC passed a Vote of Thanks to Mrs TAM for her outstanding contributions as Clerk of Convocation for the last three years.

On August 21st, 2016, the SC members held a Brainstorming Session to review the current position of HKU Convocation and discussed strategies and year plan for the coming year. 17 SC members, Secretary of the Convocation Professor Bernadette Tsui and Ms Pauline Liu of the Convocation Secretariat attended the session.

Seven SC members were elected to fill in the vacancies in the Court of HKU. CHEUNG Kwong Tat Terence, HUNG Man Ching Alex, KWAN Pak Ming Peter, NG Cheuk Kwong Data, NG Kin Fai Kenny, TAM CHEUNG Chui Fan Mona and WONG Yiu Kit Ernest were appointed for a term of three years from September 25th, 2016 or the earlier termination of their tenure as members of the SC.

Chairman WAN Chung On John resigned from his SC member position on September 21st, 2016. Deputy Chairman POON Sun Cheong Patrick was elected ipso facto by the SC to succeed him as Chairman of Convocation on September 29th, 2016. The Deputy Chairman vacancy thus created was filled by WONG Yiu Kit Ernest who was elected ipso facto by the SC on October 24th, 2016.

At the SC meeting held on October 14th, 2016, a Vote of thanks was passed to Immediate Past Chairman (IPC) WAN Chung On John for his contributions to the Convocation. Chairman Patrick has invited IPC John to be his personal Advisor so that John can share his wisdom and experience to the SC.

The SC also endorsed the following organisation of its sub-committees in the October 14th, 2016 meeting:

  Convener Deputy Convener
University Affairs Ernest WONG  Peter KWAN
House Elaine LIU Victor NG
Finance MAK Tung Wing Alex LAI
Members Relations Andrew KUET Jeffrey TSE
Communication Andrew FUNG Alex HUNG

The SC has previously co-opted Mr TSE Sik Yan as University Affairs sub-committee member and Ms Ashley KOO as Member Relations sub-committee member. Other SC members serve in the various sub-committees.

Various activities have been planned for the coming year. The first event is a Convocation Forum by the Council Chairman Professor Arthur Li to be held in the evening of November 30th, 2016 at Rayson Huang Theatre, HKU. Members are urged to register as soon as possible when the meeting notice is sent out as seats are limited.

I hope to meet you in person and receive your views and suggestions at the Forum on November 30th. My best wishes for your good health and happiness.

Patrick S C Poon

Convocation Chairman

October 26th, 2016

Chairman's Column
Press Statement

HKU Convocation Contact Update