Minutes of Ordinary General Meeting held on 25 June, 2015

An Ordinary General Meeting of Convocation was held on 25 June, 2015 at 6:00 pm at Senior Common Room, 14/F K.K. Leung Building, The University of Hong Kong, Pokfulam, Hong Kong.

Present: 41 members in person, 140 members by proxy.

- 1. The Meeting CONFIRMED the Minutes of the Extraordinary General Meeting held on 2 March, 2015, with the insertion of the following to paragraph 27:
 - "Ms Winnie Lai referred to Motion 13 which proposed that the word 'registration' be replaced by the word 'resignation'. Ms Lai requested for an explanation as to the difference in meaning of the clause if each of these two words was used. The Chairman explained that the original wording (i.e. the use of the word "registration") obviously did not make any sense in the context of that clause. This request of Ms Lai was duly noted."
- 2. The Meeting RECEIVED a report from the Chairman on Convocation activities in the year 2014-2015.
- 3. The Meeting NOTED that no notices of questions from members were received by the Clerk of Convocation by 22 June, 2015.
- 4. The Meeting SANCTIONED the continuation of the offices of Dr POON Sun Cheong, Patrick 潘桑昌 and Ms LIU Yuk Ling, Elaine 廖玉玲 who had been appointed by the Standing Committee to fill the casual vacancies in the Standing Committee membership under Paragraph 31 of Convocation Constitution, until the Ordinary General Meeting in 2015 and of Mr CHEUNG Kwong Tat, Terence 張廣達 who had been appointed by the Standing Committee to fill the casual vacancy in the Standing Committee membership until the Ordinary General Meeting in 2017.
- 5. The Meeting NOTED that there was no urgent business to be transacted without notice thereof being given.
- 6. The Meeting ELECTED the following eight members to the Standing Committee for a term of three years, commencing immediately following the close of the Ordinary General Meeting in 2015 until the Ordinary General Meeting in 2018:

Mr LAI Alex Chun Hung 賴振鴻 (BSc (Eng) 1985)

Ms LIU Yuk Ling Elaine 廖玉玲 (LLB 1987, PCLL 1988)

Dr NG Cheuk Kwong 吳卓光 (BSc 2009, PhD 2015)

Dr NG Hon Victor 吳瀚 (BEng 1999)

Mr NG Kin Fai 吳健暉 (BBA(Acc&Fin) 2003)

Dr POON Sun Cheong Patrick 潘燊昌 (BSc 1970)

Mr WAN Chung On John 溫頌安 (BSc 1970, MBuddhStud 2007)

Mr WONG Yiu Kit Ernest 黃耀傑 (BBA 1991)

7. The Meeting WAS ADJOURNED at 7:00 pm and was followed by the Convocation Speech by the Hon. Mr Lam Woon-Kwong, GBS, JP (BSocSc 1974, MBuddStud 2007), Convenor of the Non-Official Members of Executive Council.